Life Lessons: The Worry-Wort

06/24/2013 § Leave a comment

My life lesson today is the same one I have been trying to teach myself for years and years… and years – “Worrying is only something to pass the time with, so do something else with that time!”

I have been a worry-wort since the day I was born, okay maybe since I was like 10… but close enough! Everyone in my life can attest to the fact that 9 times out of 10, I’m worrying for no darn reason… and they are right, like 99.999999% of the time! Most of the time I worry about unbelievably odd things, for example when I was 12 years old I was convinced I was growing a second tongue. Seriously, under my actual tongue, I thought I had another one growing.. I cried, I over thought, I was wrecked with grief. Thank goodness I didn’t have google back then, or things could have been faaaaar worse, for me and all parties who had to listen to my incessant babble! As I got older (and the internet came into play) things got a bit worse. I started worrying about things that were more plausible than second tongues and because I knew they were more plausible, I worried even harder. It was a lose/lose situation.

IMG_1431

Now, as a 27 year old homeowner/wife/etc, I’m better than where I was 15 years ago… not 100%, but getting there. I still worry about a few random things.. like every time I get a cold, I still think it’s the plague for a few brief minutes, but after a goofy look from my husband, and a good hard think I’m back to, “Psshh, I’m fine!” I mean I still make my husband knock on wood whenever he says something that gets my mind fluttering with doubt, but for the most part I’m cool and collected (ha!)

IMG_1245

I’ve learned that worrying can be such a silent buzzkill to your life, and your health! Sweating the small stuff just weighs on your conscience and regurgitates itself as stress… and we all know how sucky stress is! My husband and I have both decided to start leading a more laid back lifestyle… and I don’t mean we are taking up surfing and ditching our duties, but we’re deciding to let ourselves relax. We aren’t going to berate ourselves for goals that aren’t quite finished yet, or resolutions left untouched. For example, we’ve started eating SUPER healthy lately.. but we also have a long list of other goals like exercising regularly and becoming non-smokers that we are really hoping to accomplish soon too, so instead of tackling all three at once and failing at them all.. we are going to congratulate ourselves for eating super healthy and stick with it. The other two will fall into place when they will.

IMG_4855

This whole thought process started when thinking of this little corner of the blogosphere! When I started this blog I had huge aspirations and goals and expectations.. all of which fell short. I was so worried about keeping to a schedule and writing about something specific that I ended up forgetting why I wanted to start a blog in the first place.. and that was to write. I love to get my thoughts on paper (or.. web?) and that’s what I want to get back to with this here slice of internet heaven. So my non-resolution resolution is to just do it, and let the universe unfold how it may, or in this case my blog! Here’s to letting life be inspiring, not worrisome!

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Life Lessons: The Worry-Wort at a moment for this.

meta

