Monday Five:

02/06/2012 § 5 Comments

EAT HEALTHY

What I actually ate!

Let’s just start with the fact that I failed miserably at this week’s task. Therefore I’m adding it to my current week’s task (aaaand then for the rest of my life hopefully, ha.) It has been a roller coaster of a week and we ended up actually eating 4 nights of take-out and 1 night of eating out… which is no where close to all of the wonderful, healthy, homemade meals I had planned on preparing instead.

Don’t we all know how tough this is… as much as you try, as much as you want it… its damn tough.

“Snack consumption by children has increased 300% from 20 years ago.” – EMM. That statement alone should resonate somewhere.

Not that this is the most important reason for eating healthy, but I’m getting married in September… and I’d like to trim myself up a bit for it. It may not be the best reason, but it’s certainly some great motivation to start, don’t ya think?

In all honesty the reason I’d like to eat healthy goes right back to my first Monday, “What Matters Most.” I want to eat healthy because I want to stick around, and I’m going to make Jeff eat healthy ’cause I want him to stick around too. Diabetes runs in my family, there is a pretty darn good chance of me getting it at some point. However, diabetes is one of those diseases that you can help prevent by having the right diet. Now I am not a doctor, by far, so don’t go quoting me on anything… but there is definitely a link between what you put in your body and certain diseases. Eating right certainly won’t promise me I’ll have a disease free life; but if I can do something that might help… why not? Same goes for Jeff; his father passed away far too early. I think of what he, and his family, must have went through when that tragedy happened and my heart sinks. Of course selfishly I want Jeff to eat healthy and take care of his body because I, myself, want him to stick around… but then I think of when we have children. I don’t ever want our children to go through what he went through, I want them to have as long as they possibly can with their father… I want to drive our children nuts together when we’re 80.

I’m also a huge believer in being conscious of what you put in your body. What I mean is all the crap that doesn’t really need to be there, that’s in most of your commercial foods. The simple fact of the homemade marshmallows I made a few weeks ago. I know exactly what went into them,… there were no preservatives, no random chemicals, no crazy words that I can’t even understand…. and that’s something that I appreciate. I’m not saying I go crazy and buy everything that’s organic, or that for every single food purchase I get down to the nitty gritty and figure out where it came from… but I do try to be aware. This coming spring we’ve decided that our main household priority is our backyard… which will include a raised vegetable garden. I’m not going crazy this year though, we have a TON of work to do back there… so our goal is to get it all ready to go for next spring. This year whilst getting everything prepared we’re going to try some container gardening and a pretty sweet herb garden (’cause I use a ton of herbs and spices.) I bought a book not long ago all about organic gardening, so we’re going to read up and do our best to be bringing in yummy veggies by next year. I imagine it will be a great feeling… grow it, pick it, cook it; and knowing everything that went into it during the process.

Okay okay, so in light of this week’s task… here are a few of the healthy and yummy meals I wanted to prepare but didn’t… dubbing this as a FAIL week.  Also included are some delicious looking recipes (some for summertime too) via Pinterest.com and all the wonderful websites they originated from.

Spinach and Ricotta stuffed shells.

I apologize for these first two photos and their not-so-stellar quality…

Chicken stuffed with Zucchini

Courtesy of Skinnytaste.com via Pinterest.com

Kiwi Pops

Courtesy of Ohdesserts.net via Pinterest.com

Baked Mozzarella Sticks... 'cause I'm a sucker for anything mozzarella..

Courtesy Skinnytaste.com via Pinterest.com

Corn on the Cob! Who doesn't love it?

Courtesy of Pinkpistachio.com via Pinterest.com

With all of that said and done, I am off to find something healthy for lunch…. so here’s to not giving up.

(Just as a quick note… I’m still fairly new at this whole blog awesomeness so I’m not entirely sure on the protocol of using photos that aren’t originally mine, so if any of these photos are yours and there is an issue of any sort please let me know. Thanks.)

Tagged: , ,

§ 5 Responses to Monday Five:

  • Kimberley says:

    Even though you didn’t complete your goal I think you are doing a great job.

    You know what you want and why you want it. And the best part is; you know exactly how to achieve it.

    Those recipes look delicious! Keep us posted on the kiwi popsicles, they seem to be the perfect summer snack.

    • Kelly says:

      Thanks so much, I was feeling so awful about not really accomplishing this week but you’re kind words have helped 🙂 I’ll definitely post pictures whenever I make them… they look way to good not to try!

  • Carol says:

    Great Blog Kel….Can’t say anything else…..You said it all…EAT HEALTHY

  • Jenn says:

    The loaded tater tots were totally worth it though…..

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Monday Five: at a moment for this.

meta

